Run Android-x86 from a USB stick with persistence!

android-logoYesterday I discovered that “my” Android-x86 systems can be installed to a USB stick with persistence. I.e. all system changes are saved directly on the stick. This is how it is done.

1. Format a “good” USB stick with the ext3 (not ext4) filesystem. This has to be done in a installed Linux system or while running a live Linux system from CD or a USB stick.

2. Insert your formatted USB stick and start up one of “my” Android-x86 systems (KitKat or Lollipop) from CD. In the slideshow below I’m installing AndEX (Lollipop 5.0.2) to my USB stick SanDisk Contour.

Watch this slideshow (showing the install process).

slideshow-lollipop-usb

What is it good for?
Well, you don’t have to touch your hard drive. Installing Android-x86 this way won’t effect your “ordinary” boot loader. And as I say above: All system changes are persistent!

Android is a trademark of Google Inc.

